Search Site
Menu
DWI and Motor Vehicle Crimes

Jack Hoffstadt is trained, and has the trial experience to Protect Your Rights and Freedom

If an attorney does not have the training and trial experience he may not be prepared to handle the complexity of DWI cases

In Louisiana DWI 1st and 2nd are misdemeanors and as such are triable to a Judge alone. DWI 3rd and 4th are felonies that can be tried to Judge or a Jury.

Jack understands that to defend DWI’s requires a strong background in the science of what is required to properly defend the accused. Jack is certified as an instructor in Standard Field Sobriety Testing, has been qualified by the Court as an expert, is trained in ARIDE, DRE, and has attended the prestigious Axion Institute training in Gas Chromatography. He has also been the lead attorney in over 350 Criminal Jury Trials.

“Anybody with a law degree try to handle a DWI case but to do so in a manner that will benefit the client requires an understanding of the science involved. This is not a simple field and an accused deserves the best”

In Louisiana, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher, or .02 percent if the driver is under 21. We use our extensive experience to zealously represent you when facing charges such as:

  • Misdemeanor DWI — First and second DWI charges in Louisiana are considered misdemeanor offenses. However, they still carry significant penalties, including mandatory jail time, fines up to $1,000, community service and education requirements. I always work with prosecutors to have this charge decriminalized.
  • Felony DWI — Third, fourth and subsequent DWIs when two or more of the convictions occurred within the last ten years are considered felony offenses. These crimes carry stiff penalties, with up to 30 years’ imprisonment, fines up to $5,000 and the requirement to install an ignition interlock device. I can fight the strength of the evidence against you by calling into question the reliability of breath or chemical tests, collection practices, or the law enforcement officer’s procedures.
  • Vehicular homicide — In Louisiana, if you cause or contribute to the death of another person while operating a motor vehicle while impaired by drugs or alcohol, you can be charged with vehicular homicide. You face a possible prison sentence of five to 30 years. With over 35 years of legal experience, I know the strategies to employ to best protect you from these serious consequences.
  • Negligent injury — Impaired drivers who cause injury to another person may face this charge, which carries a maximum penalty of six months’ imprisonment or a $1,000 fine. I use my extensive knowledge of the law to demonstrate why you were not impaired at the time of the accident.

You can count on Jack Hoffstadt, Attorney at Law to fight vigorously to protect your freedom. I will seek a dismissal of the charges or an acquittal depending on the facts of your case. We also look toward working with the prosecutors to have the charges decriminalized.

Frankly if you are looking to plead guilty and accept what you are charged with you don’t need someone with my qualifications. My firm is for people who feel they have been unfairly treated, and cannot afford for themselves or their families to have a criminal conviction

Contact Jack Hoffstadt,  Louisiana DWI lawyer for a free initial consultation

I represent clients throughout Louisiana who are charged with any type of drunk driving offense. Please call either 985-869-8060 or 504-715-6570 or contact the firm online at [email protected] to schedule a free consultation in our Mandeville or New Orleans office.

Contact us

Please fill out the form below and one of our attorneys will contact you.

Quick Contact Form

Office Location
  • Mandeville Office
    633 Village Lane North
    Suite 103
    Mandeville, Louisiana 70471
    Phone: 985-789-0876